Average Ratings
Rates
Service
Claims
Submit Rating & Review

Liberty Mutual Ratings and Reviews

Liberty Mutual has been around since 1912 and is the 5th largest P&C insurance company in the United States. They have earned an A.M. Best Co. ‘A’ (Excellent) rating from a strong financial strength. They have good online policy management technology which makes the post-purchase process simple.

Liberty Mutual2.54700854700855117

Latest User Ratings and Reviews:
User Overall Rating

melanie14
Rates
Service
Claims

Whey I purchased my policy they were frendly, but when it came time to give me a refund after cancelling my policy, they were not so friendly afterall.

December 23rd, 2010 at 2:20 pm
User Overall Rating

cheech
Rates
Service
Claims

My mom takes care of our liberty mutual policy online and she likes how easy it is to manage it.

December 23rd, 2010 at 11:33 pm
User Overall Rating

JP3
Rates
Service
Claims

Me and wife like LM for the most part, but we were amazed how high the rates were for a vehicle we wanted to buy. Now I have to pay a new down payment to find someone cheaper.

December 23rd, 2010 at 11:40 pm
User Overall Rating

Pamela L Satterfield
Rates
Service Not Rated
Claims Not Rated


March 3rd, 2011 at 8:20 am
User Overall Rating

John Morris
Rates
Service
Claims

I love Liberty Mutual They handled my claims very fast.

April 1st, 2011 at 5:02 pm
Gordon

I had my auto, home owner’s, and personal umbrella with Liberty from about 1972-2009.
The last yr’s combined premium was over $2200. I switched to AARP Hartford for a combined premium of less than $1500. Their renewal the 2nd year was essentially a “no-change”.

April 14th, 2011 at 4:23 pm
User Overall Rating

ANONYMOUS
Rates
Service
Claims

Responsibility is their policy, only when ordered by a court or arbitrator. They delay, deny, and defend at each and every opportunity. Look forward to reading about a bad faith lawsuit that will be brought against them in 2012.

August 30th, 2011 at 11:44 am
User Overall Rating

Katie
Rates
Service
Claims

They are never available on phone otherwise everything is fine.

September 22nd, 2011 at 11:12 am
User Overall Rating

Jean
Rates
Service
Claims

I liked their customer service. the agents were not pushy forcing their plans on me like many others are.

September 22nd, 2011 at 11:16 am
User Overall Rating

Lib Mutual Customer
Rates
Service
Claims


September 27th, 2011 at 8:39 am
User Overall Rating

Dortha Parker
Rates
Service Not Rated
Claims Not Rated

I would not purchase insurance from this company. One of their poicy owner hit my car and as of today I am still waiting for them to settle the claim. My car was repaired because I used my own insurance.

November 20th, 2011 at 4:49 pm
User Overall Rating

Michael Hatfield
Rates
Service
Claims

My son had an accident in oct 2011. They failed to fo there job. no communication, no returned calls. took 6 weeks to get money to the body shop because it wasnt there body shop. made me turn in rental car because it went past the 30 days when they never paid. Would tell me the check is in the mail and never showed. took 2 months to get reimbursed for a tow. They bla,e it on the body shop for not fronting the money. Full of excuses. they wanted to put after market parts on a 2011 camry. previous accident on a new car they again tried to use after market crappy parts on a new car.. they were very prompt in sending notice my rates were going up 30% for the accident. They suck!!!!!!!

December 18th, 2011 at 8:45 pm
User Overall Rating

keyra vaillancourt
Rates
Service
Claims Not Rated

the rep called me after i filled out the online info. he dropped it by $70, but it still is in the ballpark of what I pay right now.

December 21st, 2011 at 1:47 pm
User Overall Rating

Janet Foltz
Rates
Service
Claims Not Rated

I have both the house and cars with liberty because they gave me the best price. I did not give a great rating because the next year they increased the house insurance quite a bit. However, I still think they have better prices. I have not had a claim so I can not rate this

December 22nd, 2011 at 2:12 pm
User Overall Rating

Janet Foltz
Rates
Service
Claims

They have been pretty fair and told me ways to reduce rates

January 5th, 2012 at 4:41 pm
User Overall Rating

Harry
Rates
Service
Claims

Rates are competivive especially with all discounts they offer – job – school – etc – but need a good agent too – fortunately we have one

January 6th, 2012 at 1:55 pm
Mary

Knock on wood I haven’t had to file a claim, but so far the agent has been extremely helpful and their pricing was excellent.

January 17th, 2012 at 5:38 pm
User Overall Rating

Anonymous
Rates
Service
Claims

At start nice as eery business.

Just first accident no reasonable response or detailed investigative approach. settle claim as low as possible . and than raise next premium very high. If no any claim no bonus . What a sucking Business . All these company thrives on State Laws and looting people! I think Universal or National / Govt control needed
God Bless and Save American Drivers!
Dr JB

March 27th, 2012 at 7:10 pm
User Overall Rating

Anonymous
Rates
Service
Claims

It started smoothly and very professional, yes cheap rate and service, but when it comes to repairs for a claim, they will screw you. They appraised my car and agreed to pay the amounted stated, but when it was repaired, they deducted from the amount they had agreed to pay. They are silent killers. You want a company that would commit to an amount as agreed on their appraisal. My car was not released by the repair shop because they had received a smaller amount as agreed from the Insurance company. I had to write a false check to the repair shop to release my car.

September 27th, 2012 at 10:06 am
User Overall Rating

Tony Delisi
Rates
Service
Claims

Switched companies 2 years ago and had my first accident in 20 years last month. Car was totaled. Payment was more than I expected. Took about 10 days to get payment. Overall I was very impressed with everyone I dealt with.

January 6th, 2013 at 6:59 am


Submit Rating and Review for Liberty Mutual






Rating:
Click stars below to rate.
Rates
Service
Claims
Review:




Recently Rated